Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Pardon my ignorance. I'm new to investing and haven't learned the lingo yet. Until today, I thought "shares" and "stock" were synonyms. But in articles I read this morning, they obviously meant two different things.

Example:

"The company's shares have climbed nearly 8 percent since the beginning of the year. The stock has fallen roughly 2 percent in the last 12 months." https://finance.yahoo.com/news/lexington-realty-reports-3q-r....

I understand the term "stock". But "company's shares"? What is the writer talking about? Why does it matter?

And where did the data about "company's shares" come from? If I wanted to know the same info about AAPL, where would I look for it?

After chuckling at my ignorance, please answer my question. Thanks!
Print the post Back To Top
Think of "stock" as the entire amount of equity in a company and "share" as your part of it. Just like your share of pie at dessert.

Sometimes they get interchanged but when you hear someone say "the company's shares" what they're implying is "the company's shares of stock." The person is basically abbreviating.

You could look up the financial data on a number of financial websites. For example, here's Yahoo Finance's page on AAPL:

http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=aapl&ql=1

If you expand the chart you can see what the share (of stock) price has done over the years.

Mike
Hi Mike, and thanks.
So you're saying the two terms are synonyms. That's what I thought until I attempted to replicate the analyst's math. I couldn't make my math match his, so I assumed I must be misunderstanding what he wrote.

Here's a quote:
"The company's shares have climbed nearly 8 percent since the beginning of the year. The stock has fallen roughly 2 percent in the last 12 months." https://finance.yahoo.com/news/lexington-realty-reports-3q-r.......