Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Congratulations for starting in the right direction. I started my daughter's education IRA last year, the year she was born, and the first year that this (EdIRA) was an option. I'm a self-professed amateur who loves to invest, and here's what I found:
Quick & Reilly (who I used) will set one up for no charge and has no annual fee. I'm sure that many nationally known houses (i.e. Schwab, Fidelity) will do the same, if you call and ask. Q&R and Schwab (both of which I use for different accounts) both have lists of mutual funds you may buy with no load, no transaction fee (NTF funds), and would be happy to send you lists upon lists. All companies that I contacted had simple applications and instructions for setting up the EdIRA's and packages with helpful information.
As for investment choices, I chose BTIEX, Banker's Trust Investment Equity 500 Index Fund. I found that they had slightly lower annual/maintenance fees (0.25%)than the rest of the S&P Index funds that I looked at.