No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi all, newbie here:) My question is, which do you prefer - contracting or accepting a full-time position? I know it's a general question, depending on the individual and on many different factors. But I'm in a situation where the consulting firm I worked for 3 years laid me off in Nov 2002, then hired me as a contractor in Jan 2003, and I've been working for them as a contractor ever since (with a few weeks of downtime since). They've asked me to consider coming back full-time. I'm looking to go to graduate school next fall (fall 2004), so I'm not interested in looking for a new position w/ another firm in the meantime. The factors in this decision seem to be as follows:

-Money: The money is of course better as a contractor, but counting the periods of downtime, it seems to come out as a wash, my weekly contracting rate vs annual salary. Of course, as an employee you have greater financial stability, whereas contractors take on more risk and hence have higher rates.

-Projects: As a contractor, I feel I have so much more freedom and flexibility to choose which projects I want to take on. I can simply turn down a project if it really doesn't appeal to me. Or, as in my current situation, if it isn't appealing, I could ask for more money to do the project and see what happens. As an employee, that freedom and flexibility is more limited.

-My role on projects: I feel that contractors are generally offered less choicier roles on projects, although that's not always the case. In my current project, because I was not able to commit to being on site 100%, I was placed into a less challenging and less interesting role.

I'm really at a loss as to what I should do. Opinions? Many thanks:)

PS I'm single, no family, no big debt commitments to worry about, so the financial stability is not a huge issue for me.
Print the post  

Announcements

What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.