No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi all,

I originally posted this in the newbie forum, and received some advice regarding brokers and buying a house or not; I'd like to get some feedback on the other portions of what I was looking at, however. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

------------------------

I was a member on here waaay back, but never ended up getting very serious about my investing. That was a number of years ago, and now a lot has changed.

In a couple months I'll be 30. I've got a fiancee (open-ended on when we'll get married right now), and I make a very good salary doing something I love (I'm an Associate Producer at a video game company), and I recently got a new job and a raise with it.

So, I find myself with a surplus of money... the kind of problem everyone wants! My credit cards are paid off, and have been for a while. I have some reserves of cash right now, as well as some minor investments at Smith Barney that were given to me by a relative.

I have a 401k that has rolled over from my previous two jobs, and I'll be actively contributing to that again at the start of next month when I'm eligible to join the 401k at my new job here. We have a match of 4% for the first 5% I contribute, so I'll at least be doing that much.

Here's my current plan, and then my questions:

1) Make sure my 3-6 months money is socked away. I opened an account with Emigrant Direct yesterday, and I'll be putting my liquid funds into that. I have a decent amount of money for this fund right now, but upon closer examination, it's probably only about 2 months of expenses at my current burn rate. It'd go about 4 months if I went on austerity. I plan to build this amount over time concurrently with my other savings goals.

2) Decide what brokerage to go with. A good friend who is meticulous in his research recommended Scottrade to me. I also have an FMA account at Smith Barney that I can use.

3) Open a Roth IRA.