Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Does anyone have experience converting part of an IRA to a Roth IRA? In light of the anticipated growth of BO recommendations over 5+ years it seems it could be advantageous to do so for tax reasons but want to hear if other Fools have opinions. Thanks
It was suggested I ask aj___ but I'm a newbie and lost his/her exact name.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
light of the anticipated growth of BO recommendations over 5+ years it seems it could be advantageous to do so for tax reasons

Growth of the investment won't really make that much difference in whether to have it in a Roth or regular IRA.

What matters is tax rate now (when converting) vs. tax rate when retiring and taking the money out.

Higher tax rate now == better to keep in a regular IRA.
Higher tax rate when retirng == better to convert to Roth

If tax rate is the same, it's the same $ amount that you have when you retire.

For example, a regular IRA:
$100 now with 200% growth over years == $300.
$300 at 20% tax rate (when retire) = $60
$300 - $60 == $240 final cash out.

A conversion to Roth where current tax rate is 20% would be:
$100 now ==> $80 into the Roth ($20 paid in tax)
$80 with 200% growth == $240
$0 taxes when pulling it out means $240 final cash out.
No. of Recommendations: 7
Does anyone have experience converting part of an IRA to a Roth IRA?

Yes, I have done so.

In light of the anticipated growth of BO recommendations over 5+ years it seems it could be advantageous to do so for tax reasons but want to hear if other Fools have opinions.