Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Because of a short term (2 - 5 year) relocation, we plan to rent our home and return to it when we retire. How should we time maintenance and improvements made in preparation for the rental period to insure that they can be used as rental property expenses?
Print the post Back To Top
I'm not a lawyer or an accountant so this is worth what you are paying for it, which is $0.00. However, I have been in a similar situation to you. My read on the IRS publications was that repairs etc. that you make are deductible against rental income even if your property is not rented. What matters is your intention to rent it. So, if you have the floor refinished or the walls painted in anticipation of a rental, that's OK. What I am not clear on is whether you are on firm ground if you are still living in the place when this happens. My guess is that this is subject to interpretation. Probably, although I do not know, you couldn't deduct work that was done a year in advance of your move.

Another thing you will want to think about is depreciation. You can depreciate real rental property according to some formula. Of course, if the place appreciates, then you will have to pay taxes eventually. As it happens I am getting positive cash flow from my property and have chosen not to take any depreciation.

You might wish to check out the IRS Web site -- they're www.irs.ustreas.gov. They try to be user-friendly, if you can believe it.
[[Because of a short term (2 - 5 year) relocation, we plan to rent our home and return to it when we
retire. How should we time maintenance and improvements made in preparation for the rental
period to insure that they can be used as rental property expenses?]]