Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 4
I'm curious what people think about the timing of the going-private transaction. I just noticed that when Abax and others filed the "Commitment Letter" with the SEC at the end of December 2012 (which provides for a $35 million mezzanine loan, on top of the larger China Development Bank loans), they included a termination date of March 30, 2013. Now of course they could hit March 30 and extend the agreement, but if they wrote in March 30, I suspect that the partners thought the deal would be done by then. And given that they set that date at the end of December, they may have a bit more information on the status of the deal than we do. Or perhaps they just wanted to pressure the Special Committee not to delay its decision. BUT, I have no experience with this sort of agreement or deal, so I welcome any thoughts, contrary or otherwise.

Here's the link to the agreement and the language:

http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1398551/0000909518120...

Section 2. Commitment Termination

The Commitment Party’s commitment and other obligations set forth in this Commitment Letter will terminate on the earliest of (A) 30 March, 2013, (B) the date the Operative Documents become effective and (C) the date the acquisition agreement for the Transaction is terminated (such earliest date, the “Termination Date”). Before the Termination Date, the Commitment Party may terminate its commitment hereunder if any event occurs or information becomes available that, in its reasonable judgment, results in, or is likely to result in the failure to satisfy any condition set forth in Section 1.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2