Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your Linux Red Hat post. I have been traveling the same road as you with Linux, as I got started around early May of this year. I first met Dos on a XT in 1986. Am self-taught in Dos and also taught myself programming in Dbase 3 Plus. Really like database work. I have continued studying Dos and Windows since. But I had never done any real hardware and software configuring until completing a Micro Computer Technician Repair Course at Syracuse University in 1999.

I still have my old Compaq 286, and my old HP 486 that I used for all of my Dbase work. Have become very familiar with Windows 98, and know more about that "distribution" of Windows than any other. Have built about 7 state of the art boxes since early last year, and present everyday setup in a 700mz Athlon CPU, SD11 FIC mainboard, 196mb Ram, ATI XPERT 98 Video, Mach One sound card, CD rom, and floppy.

That will give you some idea of my background. My computer background is no where near as extensive as yours, as I have been servicing, remanufacturing and teaching others all about copiers for the last 20 years while studying computers on the side. I am 59. When bit by the Linux bug, I thought that I would be able to build on my Dos and Windows experience while studying Red Hat 6.2 Linux. NOT SO. I have found the Linux Learning Curve quite steep, not impossible, but requiring much more time to understand than I originally thought. I must admit though that I did not read as much as you before I dove in. That sure was a big mistake, as I have had to do a great deal of reading since starting Linux. Wish I had done it your way.