Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi, folks,

I am new to both IRA's and the Fool. I have concentrated on getting out of debt and figured the 15% of my salary that went to our 403(b) would do for retirement. Perhaps that was a mistake, since TIAA-CREF hasn't done any better than the market for some time.

I am 52. I plan to work another 10-11 years and then retire. I want to open a deductible IRA to buy Income Investor (II) stocks and with the tax savings invest in II stocks like CTC that should not be in an IRA because of foreign withholding tax issues. I plan to convert the traditional IRA to a Roth in the first year after I retire after my income goes down.

Since I will be over 59-1/2, I won't have to wait five tax years to withdraw from the Roth Conversion without penalty, will I? Hopefully, I won't need to, since I will have SS and the TIAA-CREF.

Thanks,

dm222
Print the post Back To Top
I'll let someone with a little more knowledge fill in the details, but you can't convert tax free. The traditional is pre-tax, the Roth is post-tax, so in moving it over, you have to pay tax on it. I don't see much of a benefit to moving to a Roth over just withdrawing from your traditional when you need it.
No. of Recommendations: 2
I am new to both IRA's and the Fool.

Welcome!

I have concentrated on getting out of debt and figured the 15% of my salary that went to our 403(b) would do for retirement. Perhaps that was a mistake, since TIAA-CREF hasn't done any better than the market for some time.

I am 52. I plan to work another 10-11 years and then retire. I want to open a deductible IRA to buy Income Investor (II) stocks and with the tax savings invest in II stocks like CTC that should not be in an IRA because of foreign withholding tax issues.