Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
This is somewhat related to the question a few posts ago, but not exactly the same.

I work as a teacher and will in the next week begin contracting with a local school district to teach their tutors how to be more effective. I will have to file Schedule C or C-EZ to report this income from the district. I will typically drive from my home to the school I teach at and then from there directly to a tutoring site. From there I will drive either to another tutoring site or home. Eventually I will drive home.

Is any of this mileage deductible on Schedule C?

I'm also wondering what other deductions you think I might be able to take against my income on Schedule C, if there are any at all.

I'm just trying to get my tax house in order for the coming year. Thanks for your help.

FYI: I will probably be grossing less than $10,000 a year contracting. The vast majority of my income will come from my salary as a teacher.

billyturtle
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 4
I will typically drive from my home to the school I teach at

non-deductible commuting

and then from there directly to a tutoring site.

deductible on your schedule C

From there I will drive either to another tutoring site

also deductible on your schedule C

or home. Eventually I will drive home.

non-deductible commuting

I'm also wondering what other deductions you think I might be able to take against my income on Schedule C, if there are any at all.

Any expenses you have related to this work would be deductible. Some possibilities are: telephone calls related to tutoring the tutors, supplies used, books and other research material, and teaching aids.

--Peter
Thanks Peter.