Skip to main content
Update
The boards are getting a new home!

We're pleased to announce an update is coming to the community boards.

Sunday, September 25th: We are migrating the boards to a new platform. The site is currently in read-only mode and we will bring it back online as soon as the migration is complete.

Fool.com | The Motley Fool Community
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Deej,

Thanks for your comments. My questions eere slightly different though: how irrational is the current price of oil based on the current demand?

It is ok to invest in a variety of ways even after looking at identical data. Afterall that is why there is a market: diversity of opinions.

I have been studying MDR for the last 3 years. I sold MDR as I feel its valuation has risen high, relatively speaking, especially in response to the metioric rise of oil. I may get back into it if it back by more than 30% from my sell price. MDR is a volatile stock anyway. Maybe not. I feel SLB is a better alternative to MDR at this point. For nuclear energy play, I have my holdings in BHP for a while now. I sold COP as I prefer VLO over it for the same reason you mentioned. I am waiting for the oil to fall and refinery margins to improve. VLO will benefit the most.

In natural gas related stock, I already own decent sized positions in UNT, PDS, HAL and APC. UNT is starting to get expensive (P/E wise)

I am being cautious by monitoring the valuations of oil stocks closely. I don't want to keep any of them if their valuations (P/E and margins) get high on speculation alone. I managed to avoid the tech burst and the housing bubble burst this way. I missed the dizzying peaks but also the downfall.