Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
A recovering AOL user, I have long been a lurker on this board in both sites. The migration to the TMF version by the more knowledgeable posters, such as REITnut and Jim Luckett, are truly appreciated. I have a small income portfolio for my mother, who is unburdened by taxable income, that, I presume, will eventually be mine. While I have been investing for some 30 years, I am a scientist, not a businessperson. This board has been invaluable to me in avoiding disastrous speculations. Thank you all.

In my reading last week, I came across a very stimulating column in Forbes by A. Gary Schilling that you can read at

http://www.forbes.com/forbesglobal/99/1129/0224094a.htm

As I recently purchases shares of Mills Corporation (MLS), his column left me with some comfort that my considerations had included such possibilities. I look forward to others' comments.

Ron

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 6
Gary Schilling has done some good work in housing economics, but I think his leap into macro forecasting and futurist pronouncements is unfortunate.

Let me refute his points in order:

1) Productivity enhancements and other positive supply factors result in deflation only if the Fed fails to increase aggregate demand sufficiently to take full advantage of them. The Fed leadership has stated that price stability is its goal, not deflation, while its actions have shown it willing to err slightly on the side of inflation. The Fed responds to politicians. Politicians, and the public, like growth and low interest rates. Therefore, I think the Fed will supply enough stimulus to take full advantage of whatever acceleration in productivity growth and other positive supply shocks come our way.