No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm new to this Fool thing so I'm trying to cross post an entry in both Best Travel Spots/Tips and Travel. Hope this isn't annoying...

--------------------------------------------------

Hello all,

Oooo, this is my second post!

I wanted to ask all the Fools out there their advice/experience with discount travel websites. My bookclub is planning a trip to NYC (NEW YORK CITY!) and have entrusted me to book everything. I've found a great deal for us on hotwire.com but I wanna hear from folks who have used it (or similar sites) if they had good, bad, or indifferent stories.

Thanks in advance!

--Mary in Tallahassee (TALLAHASSEE!?)
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
I have used both hotwire and priceline for cars and hotels. I have had good experiences with both. We used hotwire for at least one plane ticket for my daughter because her time was fleible and nothing was available for a reasonable price otherwise. I tend toward hotwire. I've checked hotwire for car rentals and then underbid that at priceline and ended up even cheaper.

I usually use hotwire for hotels except that for my husband's trip to St Louis next week, the hotel I want wasn't showing up(you can kind of get to know which is which after using it for the same area a couple of times). I went to priceline, bid what I normally get it for in the area the hotel is located and ended up with what I wanted at the price I wanted.

Flip side. I'm going to OKC next week but everything is not nailed down(it's for a house closing). My hotel and car are booked directly with the companies and are cancelable.

Do not use either hotwire or priceline if you think you will need to change anything - it's not part of the deal

rad
No. of Recommendations: 4
Hey Mary,

I've done a LOT of business with Hotwire over the past couple of years and highly recommend it. I have always had decent flight times -- no really awful
ones -- and have never had a problem with the bookings at all.