Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 1
This is for all the managers and supervisors out there:

Two weeks ago I was given the assignment to design a (whatever) system. I have little knowledge of a (whatever) system, what it should do, what it should contain, how it should behave etc. But OK. I was told it's very important for the business that "we" have a (whatever) system. It's a critical project, highly visible etc etc. And as always, inventing the wheel needs to be done *quickly*. Fine.

But, this is going to take some major time and effort to do (even if I did know about (whatever) systems). Yet, I still have 3 or 4 other additional assignments as well and keeping getting more and have to support previous work.

Yea, I know "You have to make the time." Well, IMHO that's a load of Barbara Streisand! (BS). If designing a (whatever) system was such a critical project I should be placed on it exclusively (others have for other projects).

Not the first time in my career I've encountered this.

So my question is: When a manager gives such a crucial/important/essential project with a short time frame and still gives additional work (doesn't relieve you from other efforts to concentrate on this one), do they really expect it done? Done well? Done in the time they want??? Or is he/she just saying what they think a good manager should say to the troops?

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
[So my question is: When a manager gives such a crucial/important/essential project with a short time frame and still gives additional work (doesn't relieve you from other efforts to concentrate on this one), do they really expect it done? Done well? Done in the time they want??? Or is he/she just saying what they think a good manager should say to the troops?]