Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm new to mutual funds--currently the only ones I own are part of my 401ks. Several of us small investors around the office have been discussing the distributed capital gains that holders of non-tax-protected mutual fund shares pay each year.

Sooner or later, you'll end up selling your shares of the fund--hopefully for a lot more than you paid all those years ago. Do you have to pay long-term capital gains on the difference between the original purchase price of the shares and the eventual sale price? Or does the cost basis of the shares get adjusted every year as part of the capital-gains distribution routine?

And if it's the former and not the latter, isn't that double taxation?

My apologies if this has already been answered on the board. I searched, but couldn't find it...
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
Some basic questions that all mutual fund holders should understand thoroughly. There are four different ways to calculate cost basis when you sell shares. You need to keep detailed records or use a tool such as Quicken. Personally, I keep a log sheet for each taxable fund I own, so at a moment's notice I can see what my cost basis is.

www.fairmark.com explains this all very well.
No. of Recommendations: 1
Sooner or later, you'll end up selling your shares of the fund--hopefully for a lot more than you paid all those years ago. Do you have to pay long-term capital gains on the difference between the original purchase price of the shares and the eventual sale price? Or does the cost basis of the shares get adjusted every year as part of the capital-gains distribution routine?

And if it's the former and not the latter, isn't that double taxation?

No. It isn't double taxation.