Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi Everyone,

I graduated in May 2015. I paid tuition in September 2014 for the final year of my school, which includes one semester in 2014 (the fall semester) and one semester in 2015 (the spring semester). Since the tuition was paid in 2014, I only received a 1098-T in 2014 from my school and I did not receive a 1098-T in 2015. I did not file for tax return in 2014 because I did not have any income. My parents did not claim any education expense on me because their income is too high. But they did claim me as their dependent on their tax return in 2014. I started working July 2015. Therefore I am preparing my tax return for 2015. Can I claim the tuition I paid in 2014 for the 2015 semester as educational expense in my 2015 return to get the education credit?

Thank you very much.

Tom
Print the post Back To Top
Hi Tom,

Congratulations on your graduation and job. Both are important milestones.

Here are a couple of resources in which I think you'll find the answer to your question.

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p970/ch06.html

https://www.irs.gov/uac/Tax-Benefits-for-Education:-Informat...

Good luck on your new journey,
Bob

P.S. I found both by entering "education deductions" in a Google search box.
No. of Recommendations: 2
Can I claim the tuition I paid in 2014 for the 2015 semester as educational expense in my 2015 return to get the education credit?

No. Look at the instructions for Form 8917 https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8917.pdf (my bolding):

Generally, in order to claim the deduction for education expenses for a dependent, you must have paid the expenses in 2015 and must claim an exemption for the student as a dependent on your 2015 tax return (line 6c of Form 1040 or 1040A). For additional information, see chapter 6 of Pub. 970.

and