No. of Recommendations: 34
Erick:

Anything I could say has probably already been said by the many who responded to your first thread. I'd re-read the response by lungdoc. Then read it again. I can't tell you what to do, but I can share my experience (.....).

I've been a physician for 25 years, most of it direct clinical work, a lot of it management work. I've been investing for a long time, fairly seriously since 1987.

Here's how I feel about it. Making money is fun. Losing money is not fun. I've done both. When I get done with some investing work, nothing fundamental has happened to me. I may have more or less money, but my spirit hasn't been enriched, and I haven't contributed to the universe. There may well be some who DO get these fundamental values from investing, but I'm not one of them.

I won't bore you with my thoughts about being an exec, other than to say the ego-gratification is deferred, it's often quite frustrating, and can be very rewarding. And you CAN make a difference.

Medicine? Last weekend I saw a new patient with abdominal pain. It was no biggie, but for a variety of reasons, I ended by thinking it was appendicitis. The patient and his wife, both highly educated, thought I was nuts, that it was just a bug. But I talked them into an immediate surgical evaluation, on a Saturday evening in the Emergency Department, even if just to humor me. The wife called on Monday to thank me for saving her husband's life. The appy was retrocecal, hard to get to, subtle, but red hot.