No. of Recommendations: 0
So I have looked at several bond issues that no longer have all of their bonds outstanding. Sometimes there are between 10-30% of the original offering. And I have read about exchange offerings and tender offerings.

So are these offerings pretty much limited to the institutional bond investors and what remains open is the average investor? I can see why they might limit it to institutions to limit the number of entities to deal with. I am guessing that is the main reason. But if there is another reason, I would like to know.

Do individual investors ever get access to these offerings?

I realize that most often the offerings are with distressed companies looking to push out maturities, or maybe REITs looking to refinance.

But since I am still new to bonds, I am trying to learn all I can. Thanks in advance.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 4
So are these offerings pretty much limited to the institutional bond investors and what remains open is the average investor?

Not necessarily. Partial tender limits are set by the company offering the tender, and are often for more than one security, with the securities laddered on how many of each security they will accept. That way the company can strategically deploy their capital. If the partial tender is oversubscribed, even if only institutions can participate, then there will obviously be some institutional holders who will still be holding.

I can see why they might limit it to institutions to limit the number of entities to deal with. I am guessing that is the main reason. But if there is another reason, I would like to know.