Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 4
Well, I'm wide awake at 2:23AM (again), and while listening to some music, I started wondering what I would do all day long if I was FIREd, besides some physical exercise (I like swimming and cycling), and tinkering around with the computer, which makes up about 80% of my life right now.

I studied piano for more than 5 years, and even got to the level of giving small Bach and Mozart concertos. I had a great teacher (scholarship for 10 years in France, graduated as a "licensed solo pianist"), and really got to the point of loving the instrument. I have a second-hand Kawai at home, which became like a friend to me. I used to practice my lessons and exercises a for a half hour, and then play for hours just for the fun of it. I loved improvising, and though not very good at it, there are sometimes when you're simply inspired, and something nice comes out.

I'm listening right now to Chopin's first concerto for piano and orchestra, one of the finest piano concertos out there, in my humble opinion. And, even after having heard it literally dozens of times, I still get the goosebumps when the piano solo goes into a frenzy in the medium part of the Allegro Maestoso. And I still get the urge to shed a tear when listening to the very subtle way that the orchestra is intertwined with the piano solo in the Romance Larghetto, playing in perfect sincope. So amazing, and yet it seems so simple. Pure genius. I honestly believe Chopin deserved at least another 20 years of life. His contributions to piano music are simply amazing. But, I digress.