Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm a teacher with about $10,000 in a fixed annuity paying only about 5%per annum. The surrender charge is 14%. Any formulas for figuring how long until I recoup my loss if I roll it over into another non-annuity retirement plan consisting of stocks? Thanks, mary
Print the post Back To Top
formula: (1.05) superscript x= .86 times (1+new annual return) superscript x

solve for x

If you assume an annual return of 10% in stocks, you are using 1.1 in the right side of the equation.
With this relatively conservative assumption, I get a period of 3.24 years to recoup the loss vs 5% from the fixed annuity with a 14% "surrender charge"

If you assume higher returns from stocks (like historical fool four rates or even Amazon like returns)
the time to recover the loss will be shorter.
Mary - Sorry to learn of your situation... I work with many teachers who save pre-tax dollars with 403b accounts, many are TSA (tax sheltered annuities), but they're variable annuities which offer a wide variety of investment options (growth funds, international stock funds, bond funds, index funds) as well as a fixed-interest fund.

Before taking a hit with surrender penalties, look into opening a new account that offers the other investments you seek & use your existing annuity's allowable withdrawal corridor (my company allows 10% penalty-free per year) to transfer funds (under Revenue Ruling 90-24 Direct Transfer) from your old 403b to the new one!

Good luck! PP
Greetings, Mary, and welcome. You asked:

<<I'm a teacher with about $10,000 in a fixed annuity paying only about 5%per annum. The surrender charge is 14%. Any formulas for figuring how long until I recoup my loss if I roll it over into another non-annuity retirement plan consisting of stocks?>>