No. of Recommendations: 2
Fools,

I can attest that aj485 knows what she's talking about here. Not only do I have some background knowledge of annuities since my father used to sell them (I worked in his office some summers in my youth and he repeated tried to get me interested in taking over his business after I got older); but aj485 and I just went through this with my mother, an eldercare attorney and Medicaid just 2 years ago.

aj485's assertions are spot-on. A period-certain annuity pays out for at most the specified term. Notice I said at most? In other words, without an additional rider the annuitant's estate will not receive any unpaid funds from the annuity. This could make the annuity's total return appear to be superior to other fixed income options - but that's only because the analysis often doesn't take into account the risk that the balance of the premium could be forfeit to the insurer. If you take proper account of the mortality risk, these annuities are pretty lousy "investments". But I suppose you might be able to make some kind of argument for them as income insurance ... or just a means of asset protection in case of Medicaid.

- Joel
Print the post  

Announcements

The Retirement Investing Board
This is the board for all discussions related to Investing for and during retirement. To keep the board relevant and Foolish to everyone, please avoid making any posts pertaining to political partisanship. Fool on and Retire on!
What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?