Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
This is a question about TurboTax desktop functionality, not a tax issue. I am new to TurboTax this year, having used TaxACT for the last decade.

I would like to enter different scenarios for future years to see what my marginal tax rate may be. I want to avoid triggering additional net invest income tax through capital gains. And also use "lumpy" charitable contributions to alternate with standard deductions.

I could of course create dummy returns for the current year and try the scenarios, but that seems to be a lot of work.

TaxACT has a form where you can enter your estimates for two future years. Basically the current year's data is prefilled for the next two years, and you can adjust any numbers you like, eg. increase LTCG or charitable deductions. This way several scenarios can be tried by changing a few entries.

I have tried googling, but most of the pages returned are for estimated taxes (1040-ES) calculations for next year, which is not what I need.

I am also wary of using online calculators for privacy reasons and most are too simplistic anyway.

Anyone here knows how to do whatif scenarios for future years in TurboTax desktop edition?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I switched to HR Block software a few years back and now they also make it difficult to forecast future years. Sounds like Tax Act may be something to look at.

I have done future cast in TT years ago and in HR-Block after that.
They have both curtailed the forecasting. Years ago I would buy TT and use it for year one, and then use the forecast to fill out paper returns the following year. Only paid them every other year.

Since the tax code seems to change every year now, that is not recommended.

I now use HR to forecast by running Mock future returns with their software.
Important to make backups of your tax files before trying this.