Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
This is my first attempt at a Rule Maker analysis.  I pit GE v. MMM since they are both conglomerates.  The analysis is for the FY 2000 of both GE and MMM.

Please tell me if anything is incorrect, this is my first try :-)

Thanks!

The Motley Fool's Rule Maker Ranker
                                Version 3 -- Updated June 2000

Hey Fool, start here!      (point your mouse right HERE)

Continue Here for Instructions

(Please read all three of these competitor comments.)
Financial AnalysiCompany Being Evaluated                          Competitor #1   Competitor #2  Competitor #3

General Electric                                      3M        <Fill in Name> <Fill in Name>
                 Current Period Year-ago PeriodYear-over-Year    Current Period  Current Period Current Period
                    Dec. 2000      Dec. 1999       Growth           Dec. 2000        <Date>         <Date>
Income Statement
  Sales                 129,417        110,832      16.8%                 16,724
  Cost of Goods S        39,312         34,554      13.8%                  8,787
  Net Income             12,735         10,717      18.8%                  1,782
  Shares Outstand     9,932,006      9,854,528      0.8%

Balance Sheet
  Cash & Equivale         8,195          8,554      -4.2%                    302
  Current Assets        295,663        273,187      8.2%                   6,379
  Short-term Debt       119,180        130,346      -8.6%                  1,866
  Current Liabili       156,112        161,216      -3.2%                  4,754
  Long-term Debt         82,132         71,427      15.0%                    971

Cash Flow Statement
  Operating Cash         22,690         24,593      -7.7%                  2,326
  Capital Expendi        13,967         15,502      -9.9%                  1,115