Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Someone may have already asked this, but I'm going to again. Sorry!

I received a study grant from my MBA program, which provides me with approx. $4700 a semester of tuition waivers. Since i'm a ful time student, I only work part time, which means I don't have much income. I guess my question has 2 parts:

1. is the tuition remission taxable?

2. If so, what can i do to avoid taking a huge hit from Uncle Sam in April that I can in no way afford?

Thanks!
Sonja
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
<<I received a study grant from my MBA program, which provides me with approx. $4700 a semester of tuition waivers. Since i'm a ful time student, I only work part time, which means I don't have much income. I guess my question has 2 parts:

1. is the tuition remission taxable?

2. If so, what can i do to avoid taking a huge hit from Uncle Sam in April that I can in no way afford?>>

Check with your college financial folks for a more clearer understanding of the issues. There are a number of "incentives" that education institutions can offer, and some of them are pretty tricky.

Generally speaking, gross income does not include any
amount received as a qualified scholarship by an individual who is a candidate for a degree at a qualified educational organization.

A qualified scholarship is any amount received by an individual as a scholarship or fellowship grant to the extent it was used for qualified tuition and related expenses. The terms of the scholarship or fellowship grant need not expressly require that the amounts received be used for tuition and related expenses.

However, to the extent that the terms of the grant