Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
>>>>I know that when I'm asked to critique someone else's stuff, it's very hard for me to be honest, even if they're only a faceless entity on the Internet. Some people can be scathing, but I don't think it's in our nature to alienate and hurt people we have no beef with.

Hook: I understand completely. It's hard for most of us to intentionally say something that someone else would find hurtful. I'm as thin-skinned as the next guy, but as a technical writer I'm used to people changing my writing or suggesting that I rewite an entire section of a document. I don't necessarily agree with the suggestions, and I don't always like having my "deathless prose" mangled by plebians <g>, but I usually can recognize when something is an improvement over the original. I am all for constructive criticism. It's the "This is the worst tripe I have ever read" type comments that I can do without. <g> As long as the comments are couched as suggestions for improvement I'm all for them.

I'll have to think about some of your suggestions to see what I want to do with them, but I do have responses to a few:

>>>>“My G--“ Sparks began, then choked up. He put his hand over his mouth.
>>>>Much better -- show the reaction, don't tell us about it. Why is he covering his mouth?

You've never seen anyone put their hand over their mouth when they're grief-stricken? I'm not sure I can explain *why* someone does that, but I have seen it happen. It seemed like a natural reaction to me.

>>>>Personal bias, but I'd ditch the explicit stammering. The complexion thing doesn't flow and isn't active enough.
>>>>"What happened?" Tom asked, the color draining from his face.

I was trying to avoid saying that the color draimed from his face because I had already used that phrase earlier (in another chapter).

>>>>“Oh, sweet Jesus,” Sparks said under his breath. Tears ran down his face, unnoticed.