Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 3
>>>>P. just write and write.

Michael: I agree completely. I'm a technical writer by trade, which means I write all day at my job. But technical writing isn't the same as writing fiction (obviously): there are too many restrictions on style. (At least I primarily write white papers, which are more open than other types of technical writing, such as manuals and help screens).

Over the years I have found that my writing has improved somewhat, largely in terms of grammar and syntax, due to editorial feedback. (If I learn the correct way to use semicolons and serial commas I won't continually have to keep correcting them in the second and follow-on drafts, for instance.) Heck, even my typing skills improved!

However, the technical writing didn't do much for my creative writing skills (which had languished since college). When I first started writing my novel, I thought it was going pretty well. The story was interesting and the writing flowed smoothly. The more I wrote the smoother the writing became and the easier it was to say what I wanted. By the time I was up to Chapter 8, I reread what I had written in the first few chapters and realized that the latter chapters were far better written. If you have followed the story of my story <g> you undoubtedly remember all the hair-pulling and teeth-gnashing I did over how to rewrite the first two chapters to increase the drama and improve the dialog. And all that "growth" occurred in the space of four or five weeks.

Had I not decided to sit down one evening after work (after writng all day) and "just start writing", I wouldn't have advanced my writing skills at all since then.