Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 1
Been reading some of the back posts and here are my answers being a born and raised Butte, Montanan :)

Born in Butte in 1962 and still call myself a Butte "Rat". That term came from all the tunnels in the hill there. It was in the 70's that that affectionate term came about. We had T-shirts and everything.

Went to Hawthrone Grade school which is now closed, the East Jr. High, then West Jr. High. East Jr. High is now East Middle School I believe and West Jr. High is now an elementary school? I graduated from Butte High School in 1980. We had an undefeated Football team my sophmore year, the opposing teams scored something like 20 points all season. So I'm also an alumni Bulldog. So I hope that would show my qualifications for saying people of my generation used to call ourselves "Rats" :)

As for the cold in the wintertime, I remember shortly after I graduated, can't remember the exact year, for about a week before Christmas it was consistantly 60 to 80 degrees below (yes you read that right, cold spot in the nation for a week) zero. I spent the night at my sister's house on Christmas Eve and in the morning went to get the newspaper. I thought, no need for a coat, just pop out, grab it, pop back in. I went out the door and it felt SOOOOOOOOOOOo warm! Like spring time! I was dancing around, yelling at my sister to come outside, it's so nice! She looked out the window, checked the thermometer and yelled at me, "You idiot! Get back in here, it's still 20 below zero!" Sure didn't feel like it.

I have also driven in storms where you literally can't see 1/2 foot in front of your vehicle. Real fun! So, yes, the winters can be very cold.