No. of Recommendations: 0
This may be obvious, but this is my first time on this board. I have a question or two I could use some help on. I know very little about bonds and/or purchasing them.

I had an "investment advisor" recommend that I purchase some govenment bonds. He said they are 2 year bonds that are currently paying 5.25%, and completely safe. You buy the bonds at face value and they do not go up or down in value and you get a nice steady stream of income for 2 years. Sounds good for a fixed income in these days.

I talked with another "advisor", this time at Fidelity Investments and he said if I could get the above bond, I should jump on it: he would take all he could get. He stated the latest released govenment bonds were for three years and paying about 3%(as I recall, the actual numbers are on my desk at work).

This may be a stupid question, but do some of you understand bonds well enough to know what I am looking at?? Can I buy these bonds direct from the government? I looked at a government web site and saw I and EE bonds, and treasury notes etc., but I'm not sure what I am looking at or for.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
"I had an "investment advisor" recommend that I purchase some govenment bonds. He said they are 2 year bonds that are currently paying 5.25%, and completely safe. You buy the bonds at face value and they do not go up or down in value and you get a nice steady stream of income for 2 years. Sounds good for a fixed income in these days.

I talked with another "advisor", this time at Fidelity Investments and he said if I could get the above bond, I should jump on it: he would take all he could get. He stated the latest released govenment bonds were for three years and paying about 3%(as I recall, the actual numbers are on my desk at work).