Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I’m trying to decide how much a fixed pension with COLA is worth. I’ve worked in IT for 10 years as a database administrator. A few years ago, working full time, I pursued a master’s degree in public administration with the goal of working in the federal government. It’s been three years since I graduated, and after sending out several hundred online applications to the federal government and attending job fairs I’m through with wasting my time.

During this time, and after getting my degree, we sold our house out of state and I went to work for a small non-profit in the northern Virginia area doing their DB and web work. At the same time I’ve been applying for local government jobs. I was just offered one with a local municipality; however the homes in DC are astronomically priced so I’m left with a 28 mile, 90 minute commute and no public transit easily available. We currently rent as the homes are very costly in outlying towns. The position is also a 15% cut in pay. (I’m taking into account that they pay for 100% of medical with that 15% figure)

This city job has a generous, COLA pension which is 3% inflation and partial up to 5% inflation. After 5 years I get 12.5% of my highest three years, going to 50% of my pay after 20 years. Because I’m taking a hit in the job title as well as starting at the range midpoint, after 8 years I won’t quality for any more raises unless I move into a new position with the city. Additionally, I get 4 hour blocks of overtime if called into the office for emergencies, unlike now where I work 50 hours with no OT.

The city job also pays into social security so I would collect all of that after my working career.

My understanding is that federal pensions are about half of this but I can’t find information. All of my web searches refer to non-COLA pensions in the private sector.