No. of Recommendations: 0
All,

Here is my dilemma: I have never invested in bonds or bond funds, so I'm a novice to say the least. I am 29 and currently have 100% of my retirement (401K & Roth IRA) allocated across several stock index funds at vanguard. I would like to diversify ~20% of my retirement portfolio into bonds or bond funds, but I have no idea how to go about this. It seems like the consensus on this board is that there is currently a lot of interest rate risk for bond funds, so I'm not sure what to do. Any recommendations? I have an ~30-35 year investing timeline, and I plan to dollar cost average into both stock and bond funds during that time.

I also have a taxable account that's mostly in ING. Are there any better short term, low risk investments for money above and beyond my emergency fund. I-bonds, lattered cds, etc.?

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

Ben

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
If you are concerned about interest rate risk, you should put your money either in money markets or in instruments that have fixed maturity dates. That would be CDs and/or bonds themselves (but not bond funds). It depends on how much you have to invest. If over say $25K, owning the bonds themselves becomes attractive--though you can manage with at little as $5K if you are determined.

The magnitude of the interest rate risk is debatable. Its likely the Feds will adjust rates upward a step or two once the economy seems to be in solid recovery, but thereafter rates may be stable for quite a while.

The best way to deal with the step is to invest in CDs that mature after the rates have plateaued. You can easily calculate how much various increases will cost you and how much yield you give up now to protect against that. From those back of the envelope calculations you can arrive at a strategy that keeps you from over reacting either direction.