Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm re-entering the job market after nine years as a SAHM. Before that I taught for five, before that I was a bench chemist. During the nine years out I wrote unpublished fiction and I'm a skilled writer and editor, just not that much at making up stories. Rather than try to re-train for bench work, I want to switch to technical writing. I'm 49; maybe I should leave off the dates? Complete rewrite? Any advice is welcomed.

Objective
An entry-level technical writing position where I can contribute my skills and experience.

Motivated professional with ten years’ experience conveying technical ideas to a wide range of audiences. Presents material in multiple formats to clarify concepts, including visual illustrations and physical demonstrations as appropriate. Masters new software as needed (recently self-taught Intuit Quickbooks). Published scientific and popular science articles. Experience drafting and editing others’ drafts of scientific papers, theses, dissertations, grant proposals and a business plan. Experienced at end-to-end project management. Disciplined work habits.

Skills Summary
· Project management
· Writing to guidelines and deadlines
· Editing for copy and clarity
· Research – online, library and interview
· Synthesis of researched material
· Verbal presentation

Professional Experience
COMMUNICATION – WRITTEN
· Recent clips available on request
· Published popular science articles in trade and MIT publications (including Technology Review)
· Edited and co-wrote business plan for Hidden Fortress LLC
· Edited and co-wrote grant proposal for Prof. Alan Davison (MIT)
· Edited multiple theses, dissertations and student papers for copy and clarity
· Edited multiple grant proposals for K. Barry Sharpless (Nobel Laureate)

COMMUNICATION – VERBAL