Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 46

Hi Fools,

This is my first post on this message board - or anywhere on this website. But, as an investment writer myself (see www.pirateinvestor.com) I have had the opportunity to judge the Fools' work as both an investor, a writer and a competitor.

I was surprised they choose to short Sirius - because as I think I can show you clearly, the obvious greater risk is XM. Regardless of whether the technology catches on with the public, there's almost no way that XM shareholders can profit because of horrible, off-balance sheet obligations that XM owes to GM.

Wall Street currently values XM at $1.14 billion. The competition garners a measly market value of about half that, $512 million. XM's much higher price comes from the strength of its “first mover advantage” and its relatively clean balance sheet -- two things the Fools pointed out.

But the strengths of XM are just a mirage.

Nobody knows for sure how fast subscribers will sign up for satellite radio. But I'm willing to bet it's faster than Wall Street expects, so in the spreadsheets I've drawn up to construct estimates for revenues, I'm assuming impressive growth: 100,000 subscribers by the end of this year, 250,000 by the end of 2003, half a million by 2004 and a million by 2005. After that I have big, but declining subscriber growth rates plugged in: 70%, 50%, 30% down to 20% per year growth starting in 2009 and continuing from there. My estimates, which I'd describe as aggressive, call for nearly four million subscribers by 2009, which as you'll see, is an important year for XM Radio Holdings.