Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 9
Hi. I'm a former associate analyst at a leading biotech hedge fund focused on genomics.

I recently read Tom Jacobs' commentary on Incyte Genomics. The comment begins by trashing Incyte and Prudential's Robert Toth. But surprisingly it finishes on a rather positive note and seems to acknowledge that not only is Incyte a player but probably the leader in the IP gene rush. What was the real message?

Often, like many others I know, I stop reading an article after the intro. I think Jacobs' comment does a disservice to anyone who didn't read the entire thing and only served to confuse many of those who did.

First of all, what makes Jacobs think that companies like CRA are any more likely to be good at developing drugs than they are to get value from their genomic intellectual property (IP)? Setting up a successful drug development pipeline is not a walk in the park.

Even established pharmaceutical companies like Bayer, which recently out-sourced a tremendous amount of its drug-discovery efforts in order to catch up with the rest of the industry, experience incredible barriers to success. Furthermore, American Home Products has shown us that uncertainty doesn't end with FDA approval. The pharmaceutical giant recently paid $12.25 billion to end the legal odyssey that has plagued it since 1997 when the company first came under pressure for side effects associated with its wait-loss drugs, Pondimin and Redux.

The value of genomic IP has yet to be fully proven. However, the recent ruling in favor of Amgen in the Amgen vs Transkaryotic Therapies case could be the emergence of a trend towards honoring what has heretofore been regarded as dubious IP, or what I like to call junk IP -- "JIP".