Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi Kevin,

Welcome to Pro!

I have three separate retirement accounts that I have built through Stock Advisor then Supernova; a Roth, a Sep 401k, and a personal account. At this point I can’t contribute to my Roth because We make over 180k so I put 6500$ a year into the SEP and 1200$ a month into the personal account. Combined all three total @500k. I am also 65 and nearing retirement. Yikes

I have little cash but could free up 50k by selling off some mutuel funds.

A good problem to have. Regarding the mutual funds, after account for the embedded costs and fees those are often not great ways to invest. I would have that near the top of my list to liquidate. Pro has additional thoughts at http://newsletters.fool.com/1228/guide/getting-started/make-....

I have no experience with options so I would like to just follow the recommended buys for now.

That makes sense. You can take your time and learn more about options in Options U., http://newsletters.fool.com/50/optionsu/home/.

Also there will be more information about Pro's options, hedges, and shorts in tomorrow's Pro Portfolio Positioning Report.

I feel better in selling off some the qualified retirement accounts because of the tax implications. I get itchy when I think of selling off the personal account because of year end tax gains.

Sooo I am looking for some suggestions that I could use to integrate these three accounts.

Somehow I would like to maximize the Roth because of the later tax implications.

I have my Pro portfolio spread between my Reg T margin account and my Roth IRA. It usually doesn't matter what is where, although consider having OTEX and any other dividend stocks that have foreign withholding taxes in a taxable account so that the withholding taxes can be recaptured.

phooL on!

Lon.
Print the post  

Announcements

What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.