Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 9
Hi there!

First of all, let me say that I'm in my third year of veganism. I never ever thought I'd ever go vegetarian - I really loved eating meat, and would laugh at my vegetarian friends for depriving themselves. Yeah, I was one of "those" people... ;-)

And then I started reading, just like you did, and trying to eat better, and learning about dietary causes of heart disease and cancer (both diseases in my family history that I need to watch out for) and one day, I ended up vegetarian ("For health reasons only! I'll never be one of those vegans!")

However, I didn't stop reading, and couldn't avoid the facts any longer. I started reading "Diet for a New America" as a vegetarian, and when I finished the book I had resolved to go vegan. Wow. I still wake up some days and say "I did what???"

Ok, some answers to your questions:

1) Yes, it absolutely positively gets easier to go meatless over time. Seriously.

First, try out some of the "mock meats" out there. They are amazing. My husband (a non-veg) is the King of Fake Meats - he's tried them all. For a great chicken substitute, find "Veat" in your grocer's freezer - it's amazing. Yves does good deli slices (and great Canadian Bacon). Boca Burgers are extremely hamburger-y. Experiment and see what you like, and find some dishes to make with them (Veat does great in stir-fries).

Second, after a while (especially if you didn't cook before and are starting to cook now) you'll recognize flavorings more than "meat" smells. I used to walk into Safeway and say "Mmmmm, roasted chicken". Now I say "Mmmmm, Rosemary". Same with steak - toss some Worcestershire Sauce onto a Boca Burger and that'll kill your cravings instantly.

Don't be afraid to experiment, and to find what you like.