Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi,I'm new to the Fool, a beginner in research as well.

I'm reading an S&P StockR Report for Global Marine (GLM) dated 03-Jan-98, wherein they project $ 19.00/barrel for crude for 1998, which has been closer to $ 14.00 for much of the year.

For you veteran market-miners: How do analysts come to the conclusions they do for these price projections? Is this level of forecasting error common?

I'm intend to buy some Global, probably some others in this sector. Oil prices being as volatile as they are (let's see, in the mid-seventies, we saw $ 40.00 oil, then $ 12.00 in the early eighties, with attendent stock price swings), I'm as interested in developing an exit strategy as one for buying.

Are there dependable indicators you have used to gauge the direction oil prices are headed?
Print the post Back To Top
Fact is: nobody knows.........the market determines the price for crude. Certainly the analysts are the last ones on my list I look for advise.
I think the analyst needs to talk towards a certain forecast on the share price and then calculates backwards what crude (price) level supports his chosen share price level. What that analyst says is plain oldfashioned B.S.......crude traders who are 10-20 years day-in-day-out in this market can't tell you with any degree of certainty what the crude price is gonna be 2-3 months forward......why do you think the industry and volume of derivatives ( futures/options/swaps,etc) is such an enormous "market" these days? ........exactly, because no one feels comfortable about the direction and level of future pricing........it's simply impossible to forecast with an acceptable degree of certainty.