No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm relatively new to credit cards, and since getting one when college started, I've been constantly told by family to pay the FULL amount at each billing cycle. I know it is the best thing to do, but with this holiday season in full swing, I may have spent more than I should have. My question is:
What actually happens when I only pay the minimum amount? Will my next billing cycle be an outrageously large amount beccause of the interest rate, etc?

I'm just not sure how that works. My monthly bill says I have a periodic rate of .05425% and a corresponding APR of 19.80%.......what does this mean!?!

Please reply ASAP. I appreciate your help.

Sincerely,

Michael
MiEcho@yahoo.com
Print the post Back To Top
Your next bill will include interest on whatever balance you don't pay in full. When the interest will begin to accrue depends on your card. Your best bet is to take it out of your wallet and pay it off before you use it again. Your minimum payment is usually something ridiculously low like 1/20th of your outstanding balance. If you read enough posts in this forum, you will see that far and away the most Foolish ones pay the piper in full each month.
No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi Michael, Leviathan and your family are right: paying it off in full each month is the best way to go. A lot of us have gotten into trouble with credit and speak from experience.

That said, your best bet if you have to pay it off over time is to have a plan in place beforehand (but I would never carry a balance at 19.8% if it's avoidable)... since you have already bought what you have bought, I would:

1) Take Leviathan's advice and put the card up until it's paid off.

2) Figure out how long it will take to pay back, based on the amount of the debt, the interest charged, and how much you can afford to pay off each month.

APR stands for Annual Percentage Rate. Your periodic rate is how much interest you pay per day.