Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 12
Greetings,

I've been working for Uncle Sam for the past 8 years, and given my continued ability to serve and get promoted, will be able to take a pension, likely as a lieutenant colonel, in another 12 years.

During a recent training deployment to Africa, I was nugging away at Excel. I'm an utter Excel fanatic, and love doing "what if" on there. This time, I wasn't just "what if-ing" for some questions like what happens if the market's ROR is 8% instead of 10% and such micro issues, but asking the big one - what if I stop working at 43?

With my taxable accounts, Roth, and my TSP (government's 401(k) plan) I think I can do it! I'll receive half my base pay as a pension and augment with these vehicles.

I think I can do this because I've removed myself from many of the trappings of material things. I have a paid-for car that I think will last for a long, long time - it's a modest Acura, and they rate at the very top of Consumer reports' list of lowest long term maintenance vehicles.

Also, I am in a modest house that barely cost me more than 2x my annual income, and I'm fully satisfied with it. I don't have any desire to "upgrade" to something with a fatter mortgage, though then again one day I may get married and have a brood and things change. However, I could actually have no car and retire quite comfortably where I am. Within a 5 minute walk is a grocery store, a drug store, a photography store (my sole indulgence and big hobby), and a great cafe that I love.