Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm new to investing, and I'm setting up a Roth. I'm putting in 2,000 dollars for 1998 and would like to put in an additional 1,000 for 1999 at the same time. I havn't made the $1,000 in income this year yet, but I will by the end of the year. My question is can I just write my broker a check for $3,000 or do I have to give only 2,000 and wait for my YTD income to reach 1,000.

Thanks in advance,
Cameron
Print the post Back To Top
My question is can I just write my broker a check
for $3,000 or do I have to give only 2,000 and wait for my YTD income to reach 1,000.

It's probably a little safer/less confusing if you give him a $2K check for 1998 & a separate $1K check for 1999, annotating on both checks which tax year the contribution is for. There's no need to have already made the $1K in 1999 (the 1998 contribution is another story: you need $2k of earned income last year to make a maximum contribution), just ensure that you earn enough to cover your 1999 contribution by 31DEC99.

Chris
Greetings, Cameron, and welcome. You asked:

<<I'm new to investing, and I'm setting up a Roth. I'm putting in 2,000 dollars for 1998 and would like to put in an additional 1,000 for 1999 at the same time. I havn't made the $1,000 in income this year yet, but I will by the end of the year. My question is can I just write my broker a check for $3,000 or do I have to give only 2,000 and wait for my YTD income to reach 1,000.>>