Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 18
I am an agronomist for farmer owned cooperative. We have seen some softness in the market over the last few weeks in phosphates and potash. Urea has been dropping also and now anhydrous is following suit. I don't remember all of the numbers but I think we bought our first batch of urea back in June for August delivery for $370/ton and our second batch we bought in September for April/May of 2012 delivery for $520/ton. I think we can buy under $400/ton for spring delivery and it looks like it is continuing to soften.

One thing about nitrogen prices is that they are very dependent on natural gas price. The rule of thumb is that it takes 33 mmbtu of natural gas to produce one ton of anhydrous ammonia(urea should be about 20:1). I think the historical normal price of anhydrous ammonia is about 50:1. So $4 natural gas should come out to about $200 ton ammonia. The wholesale price for ammonia has been extremely high in the neighborhood of $650-$800/ton. Most of the domestic producers would be me making a killing at half that price. Anhydrous is the primary feedstock for any nitrogen fertilizer and it is also an important component of phosphate fertilizer, so in essence the cost to make fertilizer should be tied to the cost of natural gas.