No. of Recommendations: 1
OK, so I don't want to pay the government, but I sure don't expect to get back more than I'm allowed.

See, my daughter trusted me to e-file her taxes. Great, I got a college degree (I'm smart enough to let my accountant do MY taxes).Anyway, I went and claimed the deduction allowed for a regular IRA. Trouble is, she has a Roth.

Now I have to file an amended return.

Downloaded a 1040x. It's staring me back from my desk. Can I find where to fix this screw-up on this form? No way. College degree ain't helping here.

Got any advice? Or do I need to bring my accountant in on this one?

Heaven forbid.I don't want to blow it twice...

Normlin

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
You tripped once because you had no guidance, walk not alone.

It's accountant time..

MEG
Have you asked this question on the Tax Board?
http://boards.fool.com/Messages.asp?mid=22218088&bid=100155

Barbara
OK, so I don't want to pay the government, but I sure don't expect to get back more than I'm allowed.

See, my daughter trusted me to e-file her taxes. Great, I got a college degree (I'm smart enough to let my accountant do MY taxes).Anyway, I went and claimed the deduction allowed for a regular IRA. Trouble is, she has a Roth.

Now I have to file an amended return.

Downloaded a 1040x. It's staring me back from my desk. Can I find where to fix this screw-up on this form? No way. College degree ain't helping here.

Got any advice? Or do I need to bring my accountant in on this one?

Heaven forbid.I don't want to blow it twice...

-------------------

Have you thought about buying a Tax-Software Program like Turbo Tax? I use it every year and think a great deal of it.

Good luck...

Bill
I say bluff and see if tio Sam calls. Even if they do, what are the intrest and penalties, not much. It'll add some excitement to your life.