Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm new to this investment stuff. I invested in two companies (eeln - jade) which both reported increased earnings, but their stocks plumeted. Too many more mistake like this (whatever they were) will put me out of the trading game. Anyone know why this happened?

In addition, is there a TMF portfolio of their top 10 stocks or something to base a portfolio on? I would like to invest money without letting my personal feelings or excitement get in the way. This way I could sell when they say, and buy what they say.

This site has been difficult for me to find info and advice I'm looking for. Do most of you find this site helpful? If so, how does it affect your investing decisions - and what do you find the most helpful?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
meast1,

Good luck your journey into investing. It can be frustrating, and it can be fascinating, but your results will generally depend on how much time and effort you're going to put into it.

I won't comment on the companies you've already invested in, because I don't know anything about them. However, you've probably started in a good spot, this being the "value investing" message board.

This website offers some very interesting tools, the best of which is "Fool's School", which you can access from the top of the home page or:

http://www.fool.com/school.htm?ref=G02A06

Let me also suggest a couple of books that can give you a very good introduction to investing.

"One Up on Wall Street" by Peter Lynch -- a well regarded investment manager gives an enthusiastic introduction to investing -- especially knowing what you're investing in.