No. of Recommendations: 34
Hallelujah!

I am so thrilled about this that I just spent several minutes dancing around the house. As partial repayment for the advice I got from this board, I'd like to describe my job search in the hopes that someone else will be able to benefit from my experience. Y'all have to thank millerpim for starting a new trend with her 'I scored the job!!' post.

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=18568729

My job search was unusual in several respects. First, because I am changing careers. I graduated from an Ivy with a liberal arts degree and no sense of direction in 97. I wandered over to California and drifted into various administrative positions, one of which, at an M&A company, evolved into a research position. Good job, not really what I wanted to be doing. After the morale at that company went south in December of 2001, I started doing research into other careers. I read a lot of books about money and a lot of books about job hunting and a lot of books about deciding what to do with your life. Ultimately the book 'What Color is Your Parachute?' was most helpful, as it had a lot of exercises designed to help you assess your skills and interests. Caveat: the book didn't hand me any easy answers. But after a lot of thought and soul searching, my subsconscious did hand me one. I was lying in bed half-asleep when a thought swam up from the recesses of my brain: "I should be a literary agent". Hey, it worked for Watson and Crick! I did more research into the field and decided it would indeed be a great career for me. I had a goal.

Problem #1:

I lived in California. The publishing industry is centered in Manhattan. While there were literary agents operating in CA, there were many more of them located in NY.