Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 29
I have been coming off and on for several years reading this board, never applying any of the common sense actions/advice to my own messy life of overspending. All the while continuing to pile on mountains of debt. I am 51, recently divorced and a single mother to a 9 year old son, also a daughter 22yr old at home. Lately I have been growing spiritually and making some major changes to my life. I have been living my life foolishly being irresponsible, ungrateful and always looking for immediate gratification. I am ready to clean up my life and be a better person. I have grown comfortable living in a state of fog. I feel scared and a little nervous but I am excited at the same time. Finally I am ready to do what it takes to get out of debt. I would appreciate any advice along the way.

Welcome!

One of the first things to do is to stop using all credit cards for anything, if you haven't done so already. You can't make progress on paying down debt if you're still digging the hole by adding more expenses onto the cards.

Then, you probably want to take stock of where you currently are, because if you don't know where you're starting from, it's hard to know if you're progressing.....