Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I have to take it down and run Windows to use Quicken and TurboTax that are not available on Linux),

This is a very important point. As an accountant I can tell you that most small and medium sized businesses in my experience use Windows to run their accounting software and most accounting firms that I am aware of are networked through Windows and use Windows to run their tax packages and auditing programs. Additionally most of the good business software is Windows driven.

Since I am not an accountant, I cannot comment on this, other than to suspect that you are correct. There is a project, known as WINE, to support running Windows programs on Linux. It partly works; just how much I do not know, since I have not been keeping up with it. I heard that it may be running Quicken, but do not take my word for it. I have little doubt that the project will ultimately succeed, but I would not bet my company (if I had one) on it now.

From a auditing standpoint I think a company would be assuming an undefendable risk to use a system that has no ligimate business backing it up.

Red Hat is a legitimate business. They have just received a cash infusion from several other legitimate businesses (e.g., Intel) who have bought a minority interest in Red Hat. It appears that this money will be used to increase the level of corporate support (for a fee, of course).

Based on that alone I just don't see getting rid of Mr. Softie that easily and think it's still a good investment.