Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
I posted on RMBS board today:

Again disclaiming that I'm no lawyer, I'll make a couple of more observations as someone who has been involved on a couple of big and complex civil cases from the business side.

It has been said on this thread that this countersuit constitutes an admission by Hitachi that the patent complaint is lost. In my experience, however, these civil suits have bunches of sometimes internally inconsistent claims and counterclaims, yet each is accepted or thrown out by the legal system seemingly without much regard to whether it's consistent or inconsistent with other claims. In other words, lawyers tend to throw a bunch of arguments against the wall to see what sticks. One argument which is later deemed frivolous may be inconsistent with another that is not, but it does not seem that the inconsistency diminishes the power of the surviving argument. In addition, they hope to confuse the issues, particularly when they are technologically complex, in order to gain advantage over the adversary. Remember, the judge is not necessarily accomplished in physics or electrical engineering.

bobj33 opines that Hitachi's statement "If Rambus has its way, there will be no competition in the technology market for synchronous DRAM technology or in the market for SDRAM memory and logic ships," the brief said" confirms that DDR infringes on Rambus IP. While the statement would seem to point one in that direction, I don't think these claims by Hitachi would be used to deflate arguments they might make in the patent infringement case. They certainly would argue that DDR does not infringe, and the fact that they've made this statement supporting one argument is unlikely to be held against them in another argument.