Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
I was on 72(t)SEPP distributions from age 52 to 60 so I guess around ~ 8 years? I took the same exact distribution and it was around 4% of my portfolio. As the years passed by each year, since my IRA continued to grow a little each year, the distributions became a smaller and smaller percentage of my total portfolio. I think by the time I stopped the 72(t) it was something like 3.67%? My calculations were simple because I only have one IRA and so I only had to do one calculation. It was enough money to keep me from having to start over and go back to work.

I didn't so much "choose" retirement as retirement chose me. I got laid off from the UT Vet School and went back to school and took 30 graduate hours in Holistic Teaching and Learning at the University of Tennessee College of Education and after having renewed my teacher's certification, which I had let lapse from when I was an undergraduate (double major in Animal Science and Vocational Education), I got a job teaching 9th Grade Physical Science at a high school near where we lived. I taught for a year and half and absolutely hated it. Towards the end I was having anxiety attacks and was on the verge of a nervous breakdown and ended up just quitting. I promised the principal I'd never teach again.