Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 8
I will reveal my portfolio with the condition that I am not recommending it to anyone in any way shape or form. As an engineer I am a data freak so I probably spend more time watching and studying than I should or need to, probably 2-5 hours per week in part because my schoolteacher wife just completed a deferred retirement program here in Florida and had a nice lump sum to roll into her IRA and we needed to determine how to invest it. When considering a stock for purchase I would estimate 2-3 hours research for each stock under consideration. I follow the REIT board and subscribe to Realty Stock Review for info on REITs. I also use quantumonline.com for information on preferred stocks and Yahoo finance and Morningstar.com for data on companies including records of past dividend payments. I have an online account but most of our holdings are with Merrill Lynch, who we have done business with for years. I know that trading fees are higher there but we trade very sparingly and I use their online research along with info from the broker who handles our account. We have never been encouraged to churn our accounts and overall we have been pleased with the service we have received there. I do not depend on ML to select what I should buy or sell. Rather I tend to ask my broker to tell me all the reasons he can think of why I should not do what I have tentatively decided to do. Primarily I want them to play devil's advocate to point out all the ways that we might be going wrong. Overall we have a very friendly but businesslike arrangement that I plan to maintain.