Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 72
I'll add a couple of thoughts on this already somewhat lengthy thread, since I'm a family doctor who does quite a bit of dermatology.
I am not a dermatologist. And before I heard about it here, I had never heard of DermTech before.

As of now, I don't typically refer to dermatology for pigmented skin lesions that I'm concerned about - I either punch-biopsy them, or completely excise them, myself or if the lesion is in a difficult location for me to excise completely, I refer directly to plastic surgery AFTER a punch biopsy confirms severe atypia or cancer. If the lesion is small enough and/or amenable to a simple excision, I just do that. One procedure and (usually) done.

I would be reluctant to rely on this test to make a clinical decision right now. Here's a few reasons why:

1. Someone mentioned that doctors tend to be slow to change practice. I agree this is quite true, except and until there is clear and convincing and unbiased evidence that the standard of care as it stands should be changed. I don't see that clear evidence for DermTech - yet.

2. Right now, the standard of care for a suspicious, pigmented lesion is to either biopsy a small piece of it or remove it entirely. I think if you asked 100 dermatologists right now: "What's the standard of care for diagnosing malignant melanoma?", all 100 of them would say, "Biopsy". You need tissue.