No. of Recommendations: 0
Hello to all ,I am new to bonds and would like some ideas on what to do with 20k in the realm of bonds?Please help me understand why bonds can be good for retirement and beyond?In this present economy are you better off using a firm like AG Edwards or try and do it yourself? Thanks for kindness and help .
Print the post Back To Top
The rule of thumb is to buy Treasuries yourself but other types of bonds in funds. One reason is that you can buy Treasuries in $1,000 lots. You can also buy them at fixed short-term maturity dates of 4 weeks to "nearly" 30 years. To buy a stand alone GNMA, for example, you have to pay $25,000 and then you have the complexities of refinancing. As bonds had a bull market last year, now is not a good time to buy them as rates are likely to rise this year and bond prices go the other way to maintain constant rates (roughly). Tax-free bonds usually have to be bought in $5,000 lots so to diversify takes a lot of money. Corporate bonds can be good but you have to understand safety ratings. And such ratings can change. This is what pushed Enron into bankrupcy. Then, except for Treasuries, you have to find out about call dates, which is not always easy. Vanguard has a nice fund called the Total Bond Fund. A problem with funds is that they don't mature so you can't wait for the maturity date as you can with stand alone bonds. Hope this helps some rather than confuses one. Return to the first three sentences if I have gotten confusing.

brucedoe
No. of Recommendations: 9
My point of view is different, but I've been buying bonds for 35 years and at this point wouldn't own a bond fund on a bet. Particularly not now if interest rates have bottomed.